Home > Human Resources > Observed County Holidays

Observed County Holidays

2021
  • New Year's Day, Friday, January 1
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, Monday, January 18
  • President's Day, Monday, February 15
  • Memorial Day, Monday, May 31
  • Independence Day (observed), Monday, July 5
  • Labor Day, Monday, September 6
  • Columbus Day, Monday, October 11
  • Veterans Day, Thursday, November 11
  • Thanksgiving Day, Thursday, November 25
  • Friday after Thanksgiving, Friday, November 26
  • Christmas Day, Friday, December 24
General Government

All County offices (including libraries) will be closed on all 11 County holidays.

Transit
Normally-scheduled County bus, Metrorail and Metromover service is provided on all holidays except for New Year's Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day, when service operates on a Sunday schedule.

Garbage / Trash Collection and Trash / Recycling (T&R) Centers
Waste is collected on all holidays (as observed by Miami-Dade County) except:

  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (January 18)
  • Independence Day, (observed July 5)
  • Christmas Day (December 24)