Skip to Primary Content

Hurricane season runs through Nov. 30. Check out the Hurricane Guide to make sure you're ready for the next storm.

Home > Human Resources > Observed County Holidays

Observed County Holidays

2019
  • New Year's Day, Tuesday, January 1
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, Monday, January 21
  • President's Day, Monday, February 18
  • Memorial Day, Monday, May 27
  • Independence Day, Thursday, July 4
  • Labor Day, Monday, September 2
  • Columbus Day, Monday, October 14
  • Veterans Day, Monday, November 11
  • Thanksgiving Day, Thursday, November 28
  • Friday after Thanksgiving, Friday, November 29
  • Christmas Day, Wednesday, December 25
General Government

All County offices (including libraries) will be closed on all 11 County holidays.

Transit
Normally-scheduled County bus, Metrorail and Metromover service is provided on all holidays except for New Year's Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day, when service operates on a Sunday schedule.

Garbage / Trash Collection and Trash / Recycling (T&R) Centers
Waste is collected on all holidays (as observed by Miami-Dade County) except:

  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (January 21)
  • Independence Day (July 4)
  • Christmas Day (December 25)

You are now leaving the official website of Miami-Dade County government. Please be aware that when you exit this site, you are no longer protected by our privacy or security policies. Miami-Dade County is not responsible for the content provided on linked sites. The provision of links to these external sites does not constitute an endorsement.

Please click 'OK' to be sent to the new site, or Click 'Cancel' to go back.