Sister Cities

Miami-Dade County Sister Cities Program

Founded more than 50 years ago by President Dwight Eisenhower, the goal of Sister Cities is to create and strengthen partnerships between the U.S. and communities around the world through local government cooperation, cultural understanding, and economic development activities.

The Sister Cities Program of Miami-Dade County is managed by the International Trade Consortium (ITC) Secretariat staff. The program promotes citizen diplomacy, international cultural understanding and trade and commerce by:

  • Receiving foreign missions
  • Organizing missions to Sister and Friendship Cities (and Countries and Countries)
  • Supporting partner organizations in developing programs to foster global connections


The Miami-Dade Sister Cities Program was founded in 1981 by the Miami-Dade Board of County Commissioners. Our County has Sister Cities relationships with 29 cities, counties and countries in South America, Central America, the Caribbean, Europe, Africa and Asia. We continue to work with partners to develop projects to promote international cooperation and understanding and Miami-Dade County as a Global Gateway.

We have organized Sister Cities missions to cities in Brazil, Chile, Spain, Jamaica, Italy, The Commonwealth of The Bahamas, Republic of China (ROC), France and Senegal, often in conjunction with trade missions. We welcome and support delegations from our Sister Cities.

If you have connections to one of Miami-Dade’s Sister Cities or are interested in forming a citizen diplomat committee to create a new relationship, we’d love to hear from you at [email protected].

Miami-Dade County's Active Sister Cities relationships

  • Asti Province, Italy
  • Asuncion, Paraguay
  • Cape Town, South Africa
  • Cabildo of Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain
  • Commonwealth of the Bahamas
  • County Cork, Ireland
  • Dakar, Senegal
  • Kingston, Jamaica
  • Maldonado, Uruguay
  • Metropolis of Aix-Marseille-Provence, France
  • New Taipei City, Taiwan
  • Paramaribo, Suriname
  • Pereira, Colombia
  • Petit Goave, Haiti
  • Prague, Czech Republic
  • Province of Mendoza, Argentina
  • San Jose, Costa Rica
  • Santo Domingo Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
  • Sao Paulo, Brazil
  • State of Monagas, Venezuela
  • Stockholm County, Sweden
  • Veracruz, Mexico

Emeritus Status

  • Cayman Islands, UK
  • City of Grand Turk, Turks & Caico Islands
  • Departamento Santa Cruz, Bolivia
  • Federation of St. Kitts & Nevis Islands
  • Iquique, Chile
  • Lamentin, Guadaloupe
  • Pucallpa, Peru

Friendship Cities

  • Barcelona, Spain
  • Southampton, UK