Home > Management and Budget > Miami-Dade County Municipalities

Miami-Dade County Municipalities

Dade County was created on January 18, 1836, under the Territorial Act of the United States. On November 13, 1997, voters changed the name to Miami-Dade County.

The most populous county in Florida, Miami-Dade County is home to 34 incorporated municipalities, cities, towns and villages, as well as to unincorporated communities and neighborhoods.

Here is a complete list of the municipalities in Miami-Dade County, as well as the dates when they became incorporated.

* The City of Islandia was established on December 6, 1960 and was abolished on March 6, 2012 when the Board of County Commissioners adopted Ordinance No. 12-14 and the area reverted to unincorporated status.