Skip to Primary Content
Home > Your Government > Board of County Commissioners > Community Advocacy > Military Affairs Board

Military Affairs Advisory Board

The mission of the Military Affairs Board (MAB) is to provide the Miami-Dade Board of County Commissioners with recommendations in regards to the military and veterans.  The Military Affairs Board’s focus will be concentrated on issues concerning the Army, Marine Corps, Navy, Air Force, Coast Guard and National Guard Reserves.  The Military Affairs Board will serve as an advocate for active duty, reserve, retired, disabled and deceased military personnel in Miami-Dade County.

  • History

    On May 17, 2012 the Board of County Commissioners unanimously adopted County Ordinance No. 12-37 creating the Miami-Dade County Military Affairs Board, to be known as the Military Affairs Board (MAB) providing for powers and duties, composition and appointment of Board, qualifications, organization, financial support, staff and council; providing severability, inclusion in the code and effective date.

    The Military Affairs Board, sponsored by Commissioner José “Pepe' Díaz will provide the Board of County Commissioners with recommendations regarding military affairs in Miami-Dade County specific to the Marine Corps, Army, Navy, Air Force, National Guard Reserves and Coast Guard (collectively “Armed Forces”) and active, reserve, retired, disabled and deceased military personnel in Miami-Dade County.

    The board will consist of 24 members, with each one appointed by the mayor, commissioners, the various military branches located in Miami-Dade County, the Miami-Dade Defense Alliance, the greater Miami Chamber of Commerce, and the Red Cross.

    Board members must meet certain qualifications to be eligible, such as being a U.S. Citizen, and having served in the military or showing interest in military affairs. Terms are for three years. Board members will advocate on behalf of military personnel on issues like health care, housing, loans, pension benefits, education, employment, incarceration, reintegration, unemployment benefits, disability claims, vocational training, and insurance.

  • Boards and Minutes

    List of the Military Affairs Board agendas and minutes available for viewing.

  • Board Members

    Board Member / Appointed By

    Mario Alvarez - Mayor Carlos Gimenez

    Kevin Humes - Commission District 1 - Barbara J. Jordan

    David J. Blake - Commission District 2 - Jean Monestime 

    Keith Whitbeck - Commission District 3 - Audrey M. Edmonson

    Mark Blumstein - Commission District  4 - Sally A. Heyman

    Jorge A. Sibila - Commission District 5 - Eileen Higgins

    Joseph J. Martory - Commission District 6 - Rebeca Sosa

    Sergei M. Kowalchik - Commission District 7 - Xavier L. Suarez

    Thomas Davis - Commission District 8 - Daniella Levine-Cava

    Anthony Atwood - Commission District 9 - Dennis C. Moss

    (Vacant) - Commission District 10 - Sen. Javier D. Souto

    Jeffrey C. Wander - Commission District 11 - Joe A. Martinez

    (Vacant) - Commission District 12 - Jose "Pepe" Diaz

    Tim Daubert - Commission District 13 - Esteban Bovo, Jr.

    Leandra McCommas - United States Senator Rick Scott

    Lea Padron - United States Senator Marco Rubio

    Debbie Zimmerman - United States Congresswoman Donna Shalala

    Jesse Manzano-Plaza - United States Congresswoman Debbie Murcasel-Powell

    Councilwoman Sandra Ruiz - City of Doral

    Director Paul Russo - Veterans Affairs Hospital

    Joanna Sandstrom - State Attorney’s Office of Miami-Dade County

    Charles Johnson - Miami Chamber of Commerce

    Donna Mason - Military Miami-Dade

    Robert O. Appin - SOUTHCOM

    Col. Lisa Garcia - SOUTHCOM

    Major Brooke A. Cortez - U.S. A.F. Homestead

    Captain Benjamin L. Davis - U. S. Coast Guard

    Gunnery Sergeant Jeremiah Scutt - U.S. Marine Corps Reserve 

  • Committees
    • By-Laws, Legal & Finance Committee
    • BRAC Committee
    • Special Events Committe
    • Employment & Housing Committee
    • Health & Welfare Committee