Careers: Police Officer
The Miami-Dade Police Department's application process
for the position of Police Officer
is currently closed.
Annual Salary: Min (probational) $53,554.80 - Max $95,321.20
Salary includes supplemental pay for hazardous duty pay and FDLE certification. A variety of additional pay supplements and pay incentives are available based upon assignments. Lateral officers are eligible for a pay increase contingent on the amount of law enforcement experience they had prior to employment.
If claiming Veteran's Preference, candidates must provide a DD-214 Member 4 form.
The Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) sets the minimum requirements to be a law enforcement officer in the State of Florida. From there, each agency sets its own standards to determine if an applicant is suitable for the position of police officer.
- Be at least 20 years old to apply, and 21 years old at the time of hire
- High school diploma or equivalent. An evaluation of foreign school diploma may be required.
- Have one or more of the following:
- An associate degree or at least 60 college credits.
- Two years of active or reserve military duty.
- Three years of continuous full-time, post-high school work experience.
- One year of full-time sworn law enforcement experience.
- Not have been convicted of any felony or of a misdemeanor involving perjury or false statement.
- Any person who, after July 1, 1981, pleads guilty or nolo contendere to, or is found guilty of a felony, or of a misdemeanor involving perjury or a false statement, shall not be eligible for employment or appointment as an officer, notwithstanding suspension of sentence or withholding of adjudication.
- Never have received a dishonorable discharge from any of the Armed Forces of the United States.
- Successfully pass a background investigation, to include drug testing.
- Pass a physical examination by a licensed physician.
- Pass the Criminal Justice Basic Abilities Test (CJBAT).
- Complete and pass the physical ability Job-Related Task Assessment (JTA) administered at the Miami-Dade Public Safety Training Institute.
- Must have successfully completed the Florida Law Enforcement Basic Recruit Training Program, and successfully passed the Florida State Law Enforcement Officer Certification Examination.
- For Florida Correctional Officers, must have successfully completed a cross-over law enforcement program, and successfully passed the Florida State Law Enforcement Officer Certification Examination.
- If employed as a law enforcement officer outside of Florida, must have successfully completed the FDLE Equivalency of Training, and successfully passed the Florida State Law Enforcement Officer
- Must complete a Certification Examination within one year of receipt of the approved Equivalency Training.
- Complied with FDLE mandatory retraining or educational requirements for law enforcement officers.
- Must have completed probation (at least one year) at the time of hiring, if employed as a sworn law enforcement officer with another agency.
Nature of Work
This is general law enforcement and public safety work in the protection of life and property and in the execution of orders issued through the authority of the Miami-Dade Police Department.
An employee in this classification may perform varied assignments in motorized patrol, traffic control and enforcement, accident investigation, preliminary and follow-up investigation at crime scenes, serving writs in criminal proceedings, and assisting in public safety education programs. Work involves an element of personal danger and high levels of physical, emotional, and mental stress to deal with people in various situations.
Incumbents must be able to act without direct supervision and exercise independent judgment in meeting emergencies. Situations often arise where incumbents will have the responsibility for making decisions regarding the use of deadly force in protecting citizens and themselves without the opportunity for prior supervisory advice or assistance.
Routine assignments are received from superior officers who review work methods and results through reports, inspections, and discussions. Police officers generally work one eight-hour shift per 24-hour period, but will be subject to recall to on-duty status as the department warrants.
In addition, police officers are required to respond to any emergency and/or criminal situation that they observe while off duty and function as a police officer until relieved by regular on-duty units.
- Patrols the unincorporated area of Miami-Dade County in a radio equipped car or motorcycle to preserve law and order.
- Responds to a variety of calls that require several intervention approaches ranging from personal counseling techniques to the use of physical or deadly force. Police officers respond to accidents, domestic disturbances, various misdemeanors and felonies, traffic and crowd problems, etc.
- At crime scenes or accidents, police officers administer first aid, conduct preliminary investigations, locate evidence, obtain information from witnesses, complete reports, make arrests and escort prisoners to jail.
- Testifies in court concerning work activities.
- Serves criminal and metropolitan writs; conducts search and surveillance to determine whereabouts of person to be served; arrests fugitives and returns person to proper authority.
- Serves as instructor in the teaching of traffic safety to civic and school groups; broadcasts traffic information through commercial radio stations.
- Assists in departmental programs and cooperates with other agencies in dealing with social, medical, and psychological problems such as domestic crises, alcoholism, attempted suicides, and other emotional disturbances.
- On assignment, participates in underwater search and recovery missions, mobile crime laboratory investigations, undercover surveillance, civil defense exercises, rescue operations, marine patrol, and vice raids.
- Assists in the presentation of departmental training programs.
- Performs related work as required.
Knowledge, Abilities and Skills
- Knowledge of state statutes, local ordinances, and departmental regulations governing search and seizure of property, arrest, and admissibility of evidence.
- Knowledge of Miami-Dade County geography and its road network.
- Knowledge of law enforcement methods and procedures.
- Knowledge of first aid principles and skill in their application.
- Knowledge of basic human relations techniques.
- Ability to understand and carry out oral and written instructions.
- Ability to develop skill in the use and care of firearms.
- Ability to work independently with minimal direct supervision.
- Ability to enforce the law firmly, impartially, and with respect for individual rights.
- Ability to prepare accurate reports of work activities.
- Ability to assess an emergency or criminal situation and respond promptly and appropriately, often without direct supervision.
- Ability to deal effectively and equitably with all people under various circumstances.
- Ability to adapt to changing social conditions.
- Ability to respond to training programs designed to develop proficiencies in work areas.
- Physical strength and agility, and ability to meet physical requirements.
- Emotional stability and the necessary capacity to cope with a wide range of interpersonal situations.
- Personal character necessary to withstand frequent assaults on ethical and legal integrity.
Education and Experience
While the Department encourages our applicants and employees to pursue advanced education, there are no post-high school degree or certification requirements for our sworn positions. There are requirements, contingent on the position, for post-high education for non-sworn positions depending on the position.
Working as a Public Service Aide (PSA) will not affect an applicant's potential for being hired as a police officer. The job function of a PSA is different from that of a police officer.
The Miami-Dade Police Department only recognizes the Florida Basic Abilities Test (FBAT) if taken from August 2016 through August 2019 and the current Criminal Justice Basic Abilities Test (CJBAT) for non-certified applicants. Please go to the Miami Dade College About the Test page for more information about taking the test.
Regarding crossover certification, Miami-Dade Police only recognizes Miami-Dade Correctional Officers who complete a crossover training program for the law enforcement curriculum at a Commission-Certified Training School.
More about Florida's law enforcement basic recruit curriculum may be found on their Criminal Justice Training Curriculum page.
Although it will not necessarily improve an applicant's chances of getting hired, we urge applicants to consider going on a ride along with a police officer.
Miami-Dade Public Safety Training Institute
9601 NW 58 Street
Doral, FL 33178
The academy is Monday through Friday from 7 a.m. - 4 p.m., and it's approximately 770 hours or nine months. The time frame for completion of the selection process is approximately nine months to one year. Trainees can expect to spend an average of three to five hours outside of these hours on a daily basis towards academic, physical, and uniform and equipment preparation for the academy.
Upon selection for the police academy, our applicants are given their start date, which is also when their pay and benefits will commence. Police trainee salary (for non-certified) during the police academy and/or training period starts at $43,020.90. Upon graduating from the academy, there is a pay increase contingent on the officer's schedule (night differential) and whether they have an associates or bachelor degree.
Sponsoring yourself through a Florida Regional Police Academy will not necessarily increase your chances of getting hired. "Eligible to be certified candidates" or persons who sponsor themselves through a Florida police academy are not eligible to apply for non-certified positions.
Applicants who have completed a Florida state-mandated police academy curriculum and have successfully passed the State Officer Certification Examination (SOCE) are considered "eligible to be certified applicants" who would not have to attend another police academy.
Out-of-state officers are considered to be "non-certified applicants." This means that they would have to attend a Florida Regional Police Academy.
Go to the Miami-Dade Public Safety Training Institute website to learn more.