In the Company of Women Awards

Miami-Dade Parks, Recreation and Open Spaces Department, in partnership with the Parks Foundation of Miami-Dade and the Miami-Dade Commission for Women announce the winners of the 2024 In the Company of Women Awards, presented by Amerant Bank:

  • Mayor’s Pioneer Award:
    Rebecca Fishman Lipsey, President and CEO, The Miami Foundation
    Johanna Cervone, Chief of Staff, Office of Miami-Dade County Mayor Daniella Levine Cava
  • Mayor’s Pioneer Award (Posthumous)
    Jeannett Slesnick, Philanthropist, Realtor, Slesnick & Jochem
  • Arts and Entertainment Award:
    Sandy Dorsainvil, Producer, Sounds of Little Haiti
  • Business and Economics Award:
    Carolyn D. Donaldson, President & CEO, CMS Global Investments LLC
  • Communications and Literature Award:
    Teri Arvesu Gonzalez, Senior Vice President of Social Impact & Sustainability, Televisa Univision;  President, Univision Foundation
  • Communications and Literature Award (Posthumous)
    Georgia Tasker, Journalist and Author
  • Education and Research Award:
    Zinzi Bailey, Social Epidemiologist and Voluntary Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine, University of Miami Miller School of Medicine; and Associate Professor, Division of Epidemiology and Community Health, University of Minnesota
  • Government and Law Award – Elected:
    Honorable Raquel A. Regalado, Miami-Dade County Commissioner, District 7
  • Government and Law Award – Non-elected:
    Stephanie V. Daniels, Director, Miami-Dade Police Department
  • Health and Human Services Award:
    Joanne Ruggiero, MSN, MA, NE-BC, CMSRN, Senior Vice President and Chief Executive Officer, Holtz Children’s Hospital and The Women’s Hospital at Jackson Memorial
  • Science and Technology Award:
    Nikki Traylor-Knowles, Ph.D., Associate Professor, University of Miami, Rosenstiel School of Marine, Atmospheric, and Earth Sciences
  • Sports and Athletics Award:
    Jennifer Alvarez, Senior Vice President of Brand and Chief Creative Officer, Miami HEAT + Kaseya Center
  • Young Professional Award:
    Marry Vuong, Board Certified Pediatric Clinical Pharmacy Specialist
  • Community Spirit Award:
    Honorable Marleine Bastien, Miami-Dade County Commissioner, District 2

Winners will be honored during the awards ceremony and dinner on Wednesday, March 6, 2024, at the Rusty Pelican, 3201 Rickenbacker Causeway, Key Biscayne, FL, in honor of International Women’s Day and National Women’s History Month. Tickets will go on sale soon.

Join us as we celebrate these amazing women and recognize their contributions to this community!

Online Options

Phone Number(s)

Email / Mail