Home > Regulatory and Economic Resources > Building & Construction > County Municipal Approval

County Municipal Approval

There are 35 municipalities within Miami-Dade County, and each municipality has their own building official with jurisdiction on building permitting and inspections. The Department of Regulatory and Economic Resources (RER) is responsible for the buildings that fall within the unincorporated municipal service area.

As part of a building permit application within a municipality, the applicant may be required to submit for County review and approval of DERM (Environmental), Impact Fees, Water and Sewer (WASD), Fire Rescue and the Florida Department of Health (DOH). This process is known as a municipal permit (M#).